Districts 2, 5, and 8 are up for election in 2024

District 2 - Florence Township in Erie County; Camden, Henrietta, New Russia, and Pittsfield townships in Lorain County
District 5 - LaGrange Township in Lorain County
District 8 - Homer and Spencer townships and Spencer Village in Medina County; Canaan and Congress townships in Wayne County

Districts 3, 6, and 9 are up for election in 2025

District 3 - Carlisle, Columbia, and Eaton townships in Lorain County
District 6 - Grafton Township in Lorain County; Litchfield, Liverpool, and York townships in Medina County
District 9 - Chatham, Harrisville, Lafayette, and Westfield townships in Medina County

Districts 1, 4, and 7 are up for election in 2026

District 1 - Ruggles Township in Ashland County; Clarksfield, New London and Wakeman townships in Huron County; and Brighton and Rochester townships and Rochester Village in Lorain County
District 4 - Huntington, Penfield, and Wellington townships in Lorain County
District 7 - Clear Creek, Jackson, Orange, Sullivan, and Troy townships in Ashland County

Per Article 1, Section 7, Subsection (b) of the Cooperative’s Code of Regulations:

The term “Member” as used in this Code of Regulations shall include all adult individuals occupying the same location to or for which the Cooperative provides service and all provisions relating to the rights and liabilities of membership shall apply equally to the holders of such membership. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the effect of the hereinafter specified actions by or in respect of the holders of a membership shall be as follows:

(1) The presence at a meeting of any or all shall be regarded as the presence of one member and shall constitute a joint waiver of notice of the meeting;

(2) The vote of any or all constitutes one vote;

(3) A waiver of notice signed by any or all shall constitute a valid waiver;

(4) Notice to any shall constitute notice to all;

(5) Expulsion of any joint member shall terminate the membership;

(6) Withdrawal of any joint member shall terminate the membership; and

(7) Any joint member, but not more than one, may be elected or appointed as an officer or board member, provided that the joint member seeking office meets the qualifications for such office.

Per Article 3, Section 2 of the Cooperative’s Code of Regulations:

No member shall be eligible to become or remain a Director or to hold any position of trust in the Cooperative who is not a bona fide resident of the particular district the member is to represent, or who is in any way employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative, or a business primarily engaged in selling electrical or plumbing appliances, fixtures or supplies to the members of the Cooperative; must not be or have been an employee, or a close relative of an employee, of the Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc. or any of its subsidiaries or affiliates for five (5) years prior to being elected or appointed to the Board of Directors; and must have received electric service from the Cooperative for at least one (1) year prior to being elected or appointed to the Board of Directors. Affiliates shall include any company in which the Cooperative shares employees or resources. When a membership is held jointly any one, but not more than one, may be elected a Director.

According to the Cooperative’s Code of Regulations, any member residing in the district may seek election to the Board of Directors. The district director candidates seeking election to the Board of Directors will be chosen by the entire membership through an election conducted by mail and/or electronic ballot. If all three district director elections have unopposed candidates, the code of regulations states the cooperative does not have to go to the expense of conducting an election, and the candidates would be considered elected without a formal election. The winners will be announced at the annual meeting held in July.  

Petitions can be obtained at the co-op office, 22898 West Road, Wellington, between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday or by calling the cooperative. The candidate packet including petitions can be mailed to prospective candidates, if necessary.

For a copy of Lorain-Medina’s Code of Regulations, outlining the election process, call 440-647-2133 or 1-800-222-LMRE or e-mail Contactus@fesco-oh.org. The Code of Regulations is available at www.lmre.org under the “About Us” tab (Membership Documents and Forms).