Skip to main navigation.

Trustee petitions available Feb. 9

Nominating petitions for the Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees will be available Monday, Feb. 9, at the cooperative's office in Wellington Township.

Just like candidates running for school board or township trustee, cooperative members interested in a seat on the cooperative's board will need to take out a district nominating petition and secure at least 25 signatures from members residing in their district.

Petitions must be filed with the cooperative by 4:30 p.m. Monday, March 9.

Three board seats are up for election in 2015. Board members whose terms expire this year are James McConnell, District 2; Judy Pickworth, District 5; and Keith Lowe, District 8.

McConnell has been on the board fo 18 years and serves as secretary. Pickworth and Lowe have been on the board since 2006 and 2007, respectively. Lowe serves as treasurer.

District boundaries are outlined in the table below.

How are candidates selected?

Those who wish to represent their district on the board of trustees must reside in the district in which they are running. They must obtain at least 25 signatures of members within their respective district. Nominating petitions will be available starting Monday, Feb. 9.

How many candidates can be on the ballot?

The LMRE Code of Regulations states only two candidates per district can be on the ballot. Should three or more candidates file petitions for the same district by Monday, March 9, a runoff election will be conducted by mail and electronic ballot for the respective district. The two candidates with the most votes in the runoff election will have their names placed on the official ballot.

What are the petition's particulars?

  • Under the LMRE Code of Regulations, a husband and wife hold a single, joint membership with the cooperative and, therefore, only one can sign the petition for their joint membership. The signature will be validated by the cooperative.
  • The candidate must be a resident of the district they hope to represent and must have received electric service from the cooperative for at least one year prior to being elected to the board of trustees.
  • Members are not eligible to seek election if they have been employed by LMRE within the past five years.
  • Candidates cannot be employed by or financially interested in the competing enterprise of business selling electric energy or supplies to the cooperative or a business primarily engaged in selling electrical or plumbing appliances, fixtures or supplies to members.

What are the board's primary responsibilities?

The board sets rates and policies and oversees the operation of the cooperative by approving budgets and work plans, reviewing financial and other reports, and appraising management performances.

How much time is required of a board member?

From February through December, the board usually meets the first Saturday of each month. The meetings begin at 8 a.m. and usually last four to five hours. The January meeting lasts the better part of a weekday in mid-January and is devoted to reviewing and approving the budget.

In addition to attending monthly meetings, board members spend four to 10 hours per month reading materials to prepare for the meeting. Trustees also serve on one or two committees that meet periodically. Many also attend state, regional and national meetings as well as various training and educational courses.

Trustees are encouraged to complete a national certification program by the end of their second term.

When is the petition due?

The petition must be submitted by 4:30 p.m. Monday, March 9, at the LMRE office in Wellington Township.

Districts up for election in 2015

  • District 2 - Camden, Henrietta, New Russia and Pittsfield townships in Lorain County; Florence Township in Erie County
  • District 5 - LaGrange Township in Lorain County
  • District 8 - Homer and Spencer townships and Spencer Village in Medina County; Canaan and Congress townships in Wayne County
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo